Posted by: ourwildride | May 20, 2008

Checked Out

Against my better judgement I started Ken Follett’s, World Without End,last week. I’ve had it on reserve at the library since it was released last fall. I almost didn’t check it out. And then once I got it home I didn’t start it for a week. Then, with 2 weeks left to read it I decided I couldn’t not read it. It’s 1000 pages. Needless to say it has been consuming most of my (very limited) free time. But it is nice to have a mental break from the attachment related stuff I’ve been studying. Unfortunately (or really fortunately) I can no longer blame my sleep deprivation on T. It can only be blamed my inability to put down the book. And further complicated by the fact that once I do put it down I still can’t fall asleep because I’m thinking about the book.  What a good problem to have!

Other than that I’ve been wondering about things like:

  • When can expiration dates be ignored? Nobody in this family seemed to recogize a difference in 2 week expired sour cream (really what is post sour cream?). And the drops for pink eye that expired in 2005? Worked like a charm.
  • If you use a baby wipe to clean up, well, you know… Could you not use them to clean the whole bathroom?
  • Why is ‘friendship bread’ called ‘friendshp bread’. It’s really more like viral marketing.
  • Why does a child, when learning to dress themselves, consistently put stuff on backwards? You’d think they would at least have a 50/50 chance.

 

As I said, mental break. Peace.

Responses

  1. What a great book to concume your free time with. I have just about finished it. Did you get a chance to read “The Pillars of the Earth” first. That’s even a better book.

    This is my first comment on your blog. I read have been following your blog for some time. You have a beautiful family.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Suzanne

  2. Suzanne – totally agree that Pillars was better. How could any sequel live up to that? But I’m still enjoying it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

