Posted by: ourwildride | March 19, 2008

Political More with Less

If you are looking for adoption related news. Sorry, it’s Semana Santa (that would be Holy Week). We hope to hear something next week. We need ‘orange’ (embassy doc appointment) and then ‘pink’ (embassy pick-up appointment). Most people have been traveling within 4-5 weeks of getting ‘orange’. We’re getting close.

In lieu of adoption related news (and I know I’m way late on the uptake but I finally had a chance to read the full transcript tonight), did Obama’s speech yesterday give you chills, or what? I’m kind of sick of the whole political thing already this election cycle. I’m sick of the sound bites. I’m sick of the posturing. Plus my mind has been preoccupied with other stuff. But that speech was amazing. If you haven’t heard or read it in it’s entirety, go here. And read the whole thing.

Warning:  Sound bite ahead.

For me the crux of it is the following quote. ‘It requires all Americans to realize that your dreams do not have to come at the expense of my dreams’. That strikes me as a political ‘More with Less’ mentality. Yes, we all have to take responsibility. Yes, there is enough to go around. Now, let’s do it.

Lest you think this is my endorsement of Obama – it isn’t. I’m still firmly undecided. But that speech seemed like a breath of fresh air.

Leave a Reply

Categories

