Posted by: ourwildride | November 6, 2007

Proof

Tonight I received proof, that beyond a shodow of a doubt, peanut butter makes everything taste better. I have always been a big fan of peanut butter. I feel genuinely sad for all those people with peanut allergies. But I never thought I’d see the day when my children were fighting over who gets to eat the last of the swiss chard I cooked for dinner. Huh? I know I may have lost a few of you. Here’s how it unfolded.

I went to the garden this afternoon looking for a few leftover tomatoes. We still haven’t had a hard frost but it won’t be long now. I saw the swiss chard thriving and felt just a tad guilty. Frankly, I just haven’t known what to do with it. However, this time knowing Jack Frost is just around the corner, my guilt won. I cut it and went back inside to explore my options. I found a recipe in which you devein, chop and then boil the chard with tomatoes and onion.  Then drain it and stir in peanut butter and salt. Sounds kind of gross doesn’t it?

My kids ate it like it was ice cream! They couldn’t get enough. I ate it too. Because I am the adult. But thought it was a few hot peppers short of being really yummy. S is working tonight so his is congealing on a plate in the fridge as I type – I can’t wait to hear his reaction.

Responses

  1. recipe please? I made b. kingsolver’s eggs in a basket recipe with swiss chard and the kids thought it was going to be the dish that has eggs cooked in bread.. big disappointment but they ended up liking the dish anyway. Weird.

  2. Sounds very Thai…mixing swiss chard with peanut butter. Mmmmm…. G would probably have agreed about the “few hot peppers short of being yummy”! And the hot peppers would have made even more Thai-inspired.

    You’re right…the possibilities of peanut butter are ENDLESS!!!!!

  3. I’ve been pondering this dish. It would have been really good made with a little more sauce (maybe a can of coconut milk?) and over some noodles – very thai indeed. And absolutely needed a few hot peppers and some crushed peanuts on top.

    It’s in Extending the Table p. 122 (if you don’t own it it is worth the investment – or at least a trip to the library). The recipe is actually pumpkin leaves w/ groundnuts – but I subsitituted the swiss chard for the pumpkin leaves and peanut butter for the crushed peanuts. Now if I can only remember this till next spring when the greens come out again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

