Posted by: ourwildride | October 2, 2007

Beware Of

Today got off to a fine enough start. We were all up and ready to roll – on time and happy. And I was having fun wearing a new outfit I bought myself for my birthday. Just thought I’d mention that in case any of you forgot (HONEY) – since it is just around the corner. If someone would have said to me, at 8:30 am, ‘beware of salad dressing and dog poop’, I would have thought them crazy. But I digress…

I went cruising through my morning right up to lunch when I opened up my new bottle of salad dressing and it splatted all over my NEW shirt and down my NEW pants legs. I must say, salad oil makes a terrific stain on light grey pants. Aargh. 

Smelling like a delicious greek marinade (Gazebo Room Lite Greek Salad Dressing and Marinade – Love it! But maybe a little less so when I’m soaking it it…), I pick up W and our neigher boy from preschool and head home. Drop off the neighbor and grab A from the bus. Grab Max at home, procure a urine sample, and head to the vet – poor Max has been having some issues.

We’re about half way to the vet when the following happens:
Kids start screaming: AAAAA MOOOOMMMM, HE’S POOPING!!!
Me: Is he pooping on you?
Kids still screaming: MOOOMMMM!!! OOOOOO DISGUSTING!!!! I’M GONNA THROW UP!
Me now screaming: STOP SCREAMING OR I’M GOING TO CRASH!
Kids still screaming: YUCK HE SAT IN IT AND IS SMEARING IT ALL AROUND!

And thus we arrived at the vet. Did I mention I forgot the leash? I make A hold him by his collar while I try clean up the poop as best as I can – she’s freaking out because he has poo on his leg. And somehow my mention of cleaning up messy diapers does nothing to dispell the whining. Finally, we troop into the vets office. I purchase the rest of my birthday present in the form of doggie Cipro. YIKES! 

We’re about half way home when the following is repeated:
Kids start screaming: AAAAA MOOOOMMMM, HE’S POOPING!!!
Me: Is he pooping on you?
Kids still screaming: MOOOMMMM!!! OOOOOO DISGUSTING!!!! I’M GONNA THROW UP!
Me now screaming: STOP SCREAMING OR I’M GOING TO CRASH!
Kids still screaming: YUCK HE SAT IN IT AND IS SMEARING IT ALL AROUND!

And thus we arrived at home. 

And that is how my new outfit was welcomed to my life. Sink or swim baby! Thank goodness it is machine washable. I’m testing out Dawn on the stains right now – I read about it on the internet so it must work…

As for the back of the van… Anybody have a power washer we could borrow???

Responses

  1. What a delightful post! Somehow the worst experiences make for the best stories sometimes. I enjoy hearing about your wild ride, and I want to wish you a HAPPY BIRTHDAY! When was it? I feel like I should know this and I’m even wondering if ours are the same?? Mine was the 8th.

  2. I just finally got a chance to check out your site tonight. I have to say, this post made me laugh more than I have in a while, though I’m sure you weren’t laughing at all…sorry about the outfit, did the dawn trick work?

    Happy Belated Birthday!

    A. Snyder 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

